Project factsheet

Click thumbnail to download a PDF

Case Studies

Click to view video

Inspire 2 Achieve (East Wales)

Project description

The Operation aims to support those aged 11-24 years of age to reduce their potential risk of becoming NEET when leaving education by providing early interventions that will improve indicators such as attendance, attainment, behaviour and well-being.

The Inspire 2 Achieve (East Wales) operation has a clear focus on engaging those identified as most at risk within education settings.  When engaged by the Operation a holistic assessment and personal action plan will be developed with the young person. This will include a baseline assessment, as part of a distance travelled measurement tool, of why the participant was referred and understanding what needs to be developed or improved to ensure the risk of becoming NEET is reduced.

Geographical coverage

The project works throughout the following local authority areas of South East Wales: Cardiff, Newport, Monmouthshire and the Vale of Glamorgan.

Essential eligibility criteria

Young people (11 – 24 years old) identified through the local authority Early Identification Tools and Further Education Screening Assessments as being most at risk of becoming Not in Education, Employment or Training (NEET) upon leaving their respective education provision.

Specific targets

The Operation has 3 primary outcomes that it will aim to support the young people engaged to achieve, these are:

  • Participants at risk of becoming NEET (11 – 24) gaining qualifications upon leaving
  • Participants at risk of becoming NEET (11 – 24) in education or training upon leaving
  • Participants at risk of becoming NEET (11 – 24) at reduced risk of becoming NEET upon leaving

Contact details

Name: Huw Wilkinson
Email: inspire@newport.gov.uk
Telephone: 01633 235408
Address: Work, Skills & Performance, Newport City Council, Civic Centre, Godfrey Road, Newport, NP20 4UR
Website: Website

Additional details

Local delivery

The Operation has 7 Joint Beneficiaries working across the South East Wales region that will engage and support young people at risk of becoming NEET, these are:

Cardiff and Vale College
Contact: David Heald
Email: dheald@cavc.ac.uk

Careers Wales
Contact: Beth Titley
Email: beth.titley@careerswales.com

City of Cardiff Council
Contact: Darren Healey
Email: darren.healey@cardiff.gov.uk

Coleg Gwent
Contact: Danial Ashman
Email: danial.ashman@coleggwent.ac.uk

Monmouthshire County Council
Contact: Louise Wilce
Email: louisewilce@monmouthshire.gov.uk

Vale of Glamorgan Council
Contact: Mark Davies
Email: Inspire2achieve@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk

Newport City Council
Contact: Bethan Allan
Email: bethan.allan@newport.gov.uk