European Territorial Co-operation

European Territorial Cooperation programmes, or “Interreg” programmes promote cooperation between member states. They aim to address shared challenges and support the effective functioning of the single market.

As the programmes work across borders, projects must include organisations from more than one member state. The best projects will have a wide coverage of different organisations from across the programme area, as well as a clear plan to spread the results of their project more widely. Projects are coordinated by a ‘lead partner’, who ensures that the project partnership functions effectively.

Each programme has slightly different arrangements and requirements. Those available to organisations in South East Wales are below, for further information on each programme please visit the websites through the links provided.

North West Europe programme encourages organisations to work together to improve the economic, environmental, social and territorial development within the regions.  The programme links the UK (including all of Wales) with Ireland, Belgium, Luxembourg and areas of France, Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland.

Atlantic Area programme aims to find solutions to regional challenges in the fields of innovation, resource efficiency, environment and cultural assets, supporting regional development and sustainable growth.  The programme links regions on the Atlantic coast including Ireland, areas of France, Spain including Canary Islands, Portugal including the Azores and Madeira and areas of the UK, including all of Wales.

Interreg Europe covers all 28 European states plus Switzerland and Norway and is aimed at policy exchange across EU regions.

INTERACT is the hub for exchanging information and best practice amongst ETC programmes.

URBACT promotes sustainable urban development and enables European cities within the 28 member state, plus Switzerland and Norway, to work together to develop solutions to urban challenges.

ESPON 2020 (European Observation Network for Territorial Development and Cohesion) covers the EU28 plus Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.