Objective 1, 2 & 3

Cwmcarn Forest Drive

The Objective 1, 2 and 3 European Structural Funds programmes ran from 2000-2006, supporting the development of regions that were significantly falling behind the rest of Europe. Objective 1 was awarded to regions within Europe that achieved less than 75% of the European average GDP.

The West Wales and the Valleys region received objective 1 funding and the East Wales region received Objective 2 and 3:

West Wales and the Valleys Areas (Objective 1) East Wales Objective 2 Areas East Wales Objective 3 Areas
Isle of Anglesey Powys The Vale of Glamorgan
Bridgend Newport Cardiff
Blaenau Gwent Monmouthshire Monmouthshire
Caerphilly Cardiff (some) Newport
Carmarthenshire Wrexham (some) Flintshire
Ceredigion Vale of Glamorgan Wrexham
Conwy Powys
Merthyr Tydfil
Neath Port Talbot
Rhondda Cynon Taff

Over £1.6 billion of EU funding was awarded to projects across Wales from the four structural funds of ERDF, ESF, EAGGF and FIFG

For more information on the results of the Objective 1, 2 and 3 programmes in Wales please visit the WEFO website.

West Wales and the Valleys Objective 1 Programme

  1. The Objective 1 Programme was delivered through six priorities:
  2. Expanding and developing the SME base
  3. Developing innovation and the knowledge based economy
  4. Community Economic Regeneration
  5. Developing People
  6. Rural Development and the Sustainable Use of Natural Resources
  7. Strategic Infrastructure Development

Objective 2 Priorities

  1. Developing competitive and sustainable SMEs
  2. Sustainable rural development
  3. Urban community regeneration

Objective 3 Priorities

  1. Developing Active Labour Market Policies to Prevent and Combat Unemployment.
  2. Equal Opportunities for All and Promoting Social Inclusion
  3. Lifelong Learning
  4. Promoting Business Competitiveness
  5. Promoting Gender Equality within the Labour Market